Out of the Darkness

By NothingToFear

13:31

2020 ...

Has been a year that many of us would like to put behind us as soon as possible.

My Dad passed away at the end of June & my Mum's health & quality of life has declined since.

During the last weekend of September Tracey, my wife, tested positive for Coronavirus. I tested positive on October 1st.

I spent 5 days at home trying to deal with it & was adamant that I did not want to go to hospital, that was a mistake & finally I was taken to the Royal Shrewsbury Hospital in the early hours of Wednesday 7th October.

I spent 16 days on Ward 32, I was very well looked after & cannot praise of the staff highly enough.

I went through a number of treatments & suffered a couple of setbacks which really effected my mental health & well being, I was told on discharge that I narrowly avoided going to Intensive care twice.

I finally made it home on the evening of Thursday 22nd October & it is wonderful to be home surrounded by my wonderful family.

I have a long way to go before things can return to something like normal but intended to take my time with my recovery & try to make a little progress each day.

Tracey must have been through a roller coaster ride of emotions but her unwavering love & support has been wonderful.

I do not intend to take anything in life again for granted, the whole experience has made me very reflective, but very grateful.

I was pretty sure that I would not continue to blip & I am disappointed that after 8 years of entries without missing a day I now have a months gap in my journal.

I have had a lot of time to think recently & as I rest at home before returning to work over the coming weeks & have decided to continue to blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.