Crab Apples and Poetry!

9°C  -  11 mph WSW Wind Speed  -  17 mph Gusts  -  Cloudy  -  Sunny Intervals.  Roofer has been busy installing new guttering.  Lots of noise with drilling and hammering, but I did manage to finish my online poetry course with the help of Bose earplugs.  We had to submit an end-of-course poem and review other students work, so it has been quite exciting.  I was hoping to submit a blip today which reflected my poem but sadly there have been no birds in the garden or field today  -  I expect the activity around the house has kept the them away.  The weather has been in favour of the work being carried out, and I did have a walk in the garden while the sun shone.  So, not Plovers but Crab Apples must be my blip today. I got two good reviews of my poem  -  I’d like to share it here.  It’s free verse  -  it gives me more freedom.  Being a keen gardener, poet Kate Clanchy’s new book ‘How to Grow Your Own Poem’ just published, appeals to me and I’ve added it to my must-read list.  Here's my poem:
               The View from Here!
Just now
A score of silver plovers
Whirled a necklace
Of sea music
Across five fast
Breakers rushing
In crescendic fury
Across a paperchase sea.

And now
They momentarily
Pause
To mark the shore
For descent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.