Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Walk in the woods

Straight after breakfast I got on the phone and checked that all my appointments coming up - dentist, vet and optician - would still be allowed during lockdown, and they are so that is good. I phoned my hairdresser to change my appointment as the next one is during lockdown, but they were only taking messages and the message facility was full - they have put on extra staff for the next three days to help clients get appointments done before the lockdown commences on Thursday. I decided to then rather send a message to change my appointment to December after lockdown is hopefully lifted.

I had a good walk in the woods with Xena, I finally let her off the lead today and all was well, she never did anything too exuberant that could harm her stitches. I took many photos of the autumn colours again as all too soon they will be over.

The supermarket was surprisingly quiet, no queues and while some items like toilet paper and pasta had reduced quantities on the shelves, at least there was still stock. Hopefully the supermarkets have woken up in time to limit the items purchased per customer so we won't get stock shortages again as we did in the last lockdown. 

Fingers crossed that the lockdown will be lifted on 2 December as planned. I wonder how many more lockdowns we will have to go through before we can be inoculated against this virus and life can return to some semblance of normality. Each lockdown will be less effective than the previous one as I don't believe people will adhere to the rules as strictly as before.

Although many university students have now gone home as their lectures are online, Tommy has to stay at university as he is still having face to face lab sessions. As far as the university is concerned they have had excellent measures in place since the beginning of term, including a pooled asymptomatic screening programme for all their students, and certainly seem to be keeping control of the situation and have not had any significant outbreaks. If only the government were as efficient as the university! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.