The Lights Are On

...pretty sure no-one's home though! XD Feeling pretty much like a zombie today; luckily I had my month end finances to do at work which is a big job I have to really focus on, so I got into the zone with that and managed to get through the work day. Dinner plans were thwarted by a broken can opener (ALL CANS SHOULD HAVE RING PULLS CONSARNIT) but we ended up with a quite nice and easy battered fish with veg and herby spuds. I clambered under the blanket after all the cleaning up was done for an evening of Gravity Falls, Only Connect, and testing the new lights we've bought for the new Christmas tree. Got a feeling that bad boy might go up a bit before December this year...

I finished my book, Loveless, yesterday. Not at all sure how to feel about it. On the one hand it absolutely amazed me how much I had clearly needed to see asexual representation in a book, though the character is also aromantic where I'm not, but still a huge amount of it was relatable in a way I've never experienced in a book before. On the other hand, the story itself is just a bit...nothingy, and there's some questionable rep for other minorities in there. Also, the main character gets away with saying some really awful things that didn't sit right with me at all. For example, her best friend is talking about how difficult it was for her growing up in the largely straight and white area of Kent as a Latina lesbian, and the main character replies "I wish I was gay, it'd be so much easier." Now, believe me, back before I knew what asexuality was, I wondered whether I might be gay, but not once did I think that might make my life easier. And even if I had, I absolutely would not say this to someone who is opening up about the difficulties they had growing up. Way to make a conversation all about yourself, yeeeeeesh. Anyhoo, yeah, very mixed feelings on this book!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.