Time

My drivers licence is expiring in December. In good time I had a reminder from the authority, telling me the two things I need to do in order to get a new one. The whole thing would take me about twenty minutes. Take a new photo, sign it with my signature and then send it in. I contacted my good friend Ove who is a very good amateur photographer and asked him to take some pictures. Playing around with that took us a few days before we had a photo in our hands. We both agreed on one of them which I sent to the authority. A week later I had a letter from the authority saying they refused it for various reasons so today I went to the Lions den to have my picture taken in a flash automat which did the whole procedure in less than ten minutes. Driving there and back took all morning but I got other things done too and it means I will get my drivers licence in time.

In the afternoon I was rehearsing  and later I had a third meeting with a friend of mine who wants to record a song and a poem that means a lot to her. The poem is in Arabic and she wants me to invent a guitar part to her melody, record it and her song and arrange it for several instruments. She is very nice but she hasn't got the faintest idea on how much time and skill any of that actually takes. So far I suppose we've (I) spent ruffly five full working days on the project and it's far from finished yet. I don't really mind, I want to help her and I sort of have the time. This evening we managed to record her singing, now I have left to record the guitar part and arrange it for more instruments. 

I'm not complaining. This blip is about time. When presented with a task we seldom have any idea how long time it will take out of our lives, we're not even aware of all the things that needs to be done to complete it. Sometimes it's done in a jiffy, sometimes it takes weeks. We don't know. I'm nowadays very humble when I ask people to do things for me, and learning to be clear about how much time we might be talking about before it's finished, when people ask me to do them a small favour.

The blip shows some insignificant lichen growing on a rock where I live. They grow 1-7 mm per year and not many notice them or gives them any thought. But they are really beautiful if you stop and have a good look. 
Do have a good look next time.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.