A splashing start to the week

I was stupidly excited to see the tide crashing over the seawall on this morning's early walk. Further along the bay, the spray was even higher and I bet a few cyclists and runners got a salty shower!

Then it was head-down work time, and the day flew by. Doing some admin tonight I saw an email from a small publisher I follow, and was amazed to learn of the publication of a sequel to one of my all time favourite books, Falling Angel by William Hjortsberg (sadly deceased). Angel's Inferno is now on order and I can't wait to read it.

Some of you may remember the brilliant cult film Angel Heart (directed by Alan Parker), which was based on Falling Angel, starring Mickey Rourke and Robert DeNiro. After being hugely inspired by the film (it kick started my first serious attempt at a novel), I searched for years for the book (it was out of print). I finally found a falling-apart copy in a bookshop somewhere in the Cotswolds on a road trip. It seems strange now that we can get hold of things so easily, to remember just what a quest that was!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.