All is not lost

As I walked to the office the city felt relatively subdued, but there was a hive of activity at Cambridge Wine Merchants as boxes were being delivered. If there’s any business that will flourish during lockdown, it’ll be the one selling alcohol for home consumption.

Tenterhooks is a word that could describe the state I’ve been in for a good while, but it feels particularly apt today with the impending lockdown, amendments to travel and torturous visa wait. After a few attempts I made it through to the Mozambique High Commission and ascertained that they probably won’t close during the new lockdown. This means all is not lost on the visa application, which is being processed somewhere in the ether between London and Maputo. Everything is liable to change but there remains a glimmer that it’ll get sorted.

Accepting that I won’t be on my way for at least another week, and that bike repair places may soon close, I sorted out my flat tyre so that if it’s sunny at the weekend, I’ll be able to zip about.

In the evening I watched The Chase.

Bradley Walsh: ‘What Kent town is the nearest port in the UK to mainland Europe?’

Contestant: ‘Cornwall.’

Geography isn’t a strong point for the British public.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.