Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It was a gorgeous day!  The sun was bright and the sky, cloudless and almost smokeless.  I started out with a light jacket that was removed within the first mile.  It was in the low 70s, about 20 degrees warmer than the average for today.   

I was a little nervous about riding in the foothills because I didn't know how far the fire had reached.  I am grateful that all my favorite roads were spared!  All three fires are no longer spreading and are mostly contained.  More snow is in the forecast for next week that will hopefully finish the job.

I don't think much explanation is necessary for my collage today.  The top right is a Ferruginous Hawk, first one I've seen in quite a while.  The bottom left is a Black-billed Magpie.  The herd of sheep in the bottom middle was not there when I passed by this pasture a few days ago.  I'll have to check back to see if they're going to stay there.  Fun to see them.

It was a wonderful 27 mile ride in perfect weather!  I am grateful for this last blast of Indian Summer!  I'm not sure if that's politically correct anymore but I don't know what else to call it.  I hope it doesn't offend anyone. x

Looking forward to tomorrow being over.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.