Theleens

By Theleens

The Painter

Today was the first day of a very special project.

Paul Larson is a local painter. Paul and I met when the Loft Arts Association had an 'open studios' day last November. I walked into Paul's studio and, after a 7-month search, found the painter who could bring my song Seattle Mornin' alive. We talked at length about his work and I eventually felt able to talk about my concept of a painter being inspired by a song to paint a painting. Paul was open to the idea. We talked some more, played some guitar and had some whisky. A friendship began.

What makes this project unique is that we are filming Paul in session for the next 9 days as he starts with a blank canvas.

Today was the first day of filming and this is Paul assessing his composition before he starts with the first stroke of charcoal on the canvas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.