Icing on the cake

I'm all smiles today. I had my first interview since being made redundant, and I got the job. Big Yay! It's a maternity leave position, so 6 months' guaranteed work. I wanted three days a week so I can keep my hand in with freelance projects for other companies, and my new boss said that was fine. She said 'I'm in if you're in', so I start Monday.

I was about to step into the subway to catch a train when I heard someone call my name. I turned round to see Lisa, my flatmate from years ago who works and lives nowhere near the area. It's very rare to bump into someone you know in London, just like that. Hooray! We swapped tales and arranged to meet for a drink in a couple of weeks.

My timing was wrong to have lunch with my ex-work colleagues, but I joined them for 10 minutes. My ex-desk buddy was there with her baby. She's taken voluntary redundancy and feels OK about that - it gives her more time for her maternity leave. When the others went back to work, us redundantee ladies went for a walk so the babe could sleep. We went shopping, and I found a dress that fits me perfectly - I never find dresses to fit me so that was quite momentous. The baby and her mum headed home and I treated myself to a slap-up lunch complete with dessert. I roamed central London for a wee while longer until it was time to meet Carly for a cuppa and a cupcake. it's been ages since we last caught up and it was really nice to see her.

A superb day all in all :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.