The future - I hope not!

2058. Londoners shelter from the endless rain on bunk beds inside the Turbine Hall of the Tate Modern. On each bed is a sci-fi book telling tales from the future, some of which may have come to be. The relentless downpours have affected urban sculptures in an odd way - they have grown into giants. It has been decided to store them within the Turbine Hall along with the refugees.

More about TH.2058


On Monday I tried to book an InDesign course, but it was fully booked. However, the guy at the training centre said the trainer was in London on Friday and would that be good for me? Of course it was. So today I went to my training course and it was only me and the teacher! So a one-to-one for a whole day, helping me on all the various things that I needed to know - a bespoke training course for the same cost as the normal one. The trainer was a lovely lass who is about to adopt a couple of rabbits so we talked small, furry animals that gnaw in between sizing pictures and editing texts and me forgetting where on earth all the various menus are. It's going to take a while for it all the sink in, but I'm going to be working with the program on Monday so the course is perfectly timed. Phew!

After the course, I was a bit restless and didn't want to go home. However, no one I texted could go for a pint so I wandered down the South Bank from Waterloo to London Bridge. The light was great, and there were lots of people out and about. I almost blipped the sand sculptor, but went for the Tate Modern. I had fun wandering around the installation, putting myself in the mind of a refugee in 2058. I had a climb on the bunk beds and read a bit of a book whilst listening to the drip, drip, drip of the rain.

Have a fun weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.