Kakariki

Yellow Crowned Parakeet (Cyanoramphus novaezelandiae)

Kiwilizzie suggested a drive up the Matakitaki west bank after work. It was too hot for a walk so a drive and photo opportunity in the bush seemed like a fine idea. She spotted movement in the totara tree and thought it might be a waxeye. I got all excited when i identified the kakariki.

I've only seen them in the wild once before and that was at Marble Hill (Springs Junction). There was a pair of them in the tree and I took lots of photos but they were really beyond the reach of my cheap zoom lens. Of course I have to blip him anyway as I may not see another one (though you can guarantee that I'll be up there again soon with my big zoom).

This is what he looks like without all the branches and leaves in the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.