Gillsabroad

By gillsabroad

Bearing fruit

The fruit in today's blip is, I believe, yuzu. Yuzu are sour, lemon sized fruits that have a distinctively Japanese fragrance. While yuzu have little pulp, their juice is often used in seasoning and their rind is used as a garnish. Whatever they are they look very cheery and remind me that spring really is just around the corner. I have also been reminded today why Japan is such a beautifully green and lush country... rain, rain and more rain!

Having lived in a desert for the last six years I am aware that I am perhaps more sensitive to increased rainfall, but it seems I have been labouring under the very false impression that there was rather less rain here than in the UK. Sadly not the case! Japan comes in at number 19 in recent precipitation with the UK coming in at a very modest number 48.

Hey ho! On the bright side it's warmer when it rains and I'm told all this moisture is so much better for the complexion!

Rain, whose soft architectural hands have power to cut stones, and chisel to shapes of grandeur the very mountains.
Henry Ward Beecher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.