Wheal Betsy - Dartmoor

A while ago, I purchased a copy of Wild Ruins, it is called "The explorer's guide to Britain's lost castles, follies, relics and remains" and is absolutely facinating. It is by Dave Hamilton, with  a forward by Sir Tony Robinson. Enough of promotion for the book.

The morning dawned chilly but with blue sky and sunshine!! I had a fitness class first thing (09.45), which was as usual good fun as we were exercising with two loo rolls! after the class I got changed, grabbed cameras and spare batteries, the book, and my copy of Dartmoor AZ for walkers1;25 000 scale book, and headed out towards Tavistock. I knew where to park, and it is only a couple of minutes to the old engine house. I have added a photo of the National Trust plaque on the wall, which gives a bit of the history. The tower does lean, nothing to do with my camera angle. And apparently is known locally as the leaning tower of Dartmoor. It has been caused by the exposed position on the Moor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.