Sun At My Back

Gloriously warm and sunny today, I didn't really need a coat. I played around with a wide angle lens tilted down to emphasize the foreground roots and branches catching the late afternoon sun. In this light everything looks clear and crisp, the grass and twigs are as dry as the appear.

I find grass difficult to shoot because it easily burns out, showing up as white lines in the image. Consequently, judging exposure can be a challenge. My current method is to start low, take a shot, check for blinkies and adjust until most are gone. Of course in some scenes the shadows get blocked up, but not here.

I couldn't figure out in my original shot how to avoid creating a shadow from the tripod so I moved around to this viewpoint, although the root isn't quite as strong an element.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.