Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Long

Been a busy few days - so playing catch-up with my Blip journal.
Better late than never!

Decided to go for a slightly longer walk than some of my recent ones on Tuesday, and it turned out to be much longer than I had planned.

My original plan was to walk along to Head of Muir and then up Drove Road onto Myothill Road (the road that leads to the reservoirs that I have Blipped more than once) and then back down the hill to the road home from there.

My mistake was leaving the house too late and forgetting that it starts to get dark around 4pm (maybe slightly earlier when it is overcast), but I reckoned I would be home shortly after 4pm in any event. What I hadn't bargained for, though, was to find the road home flooded. This particular country road has a steep section, it then passes under the motorway and there are a couple of other undulations before it joins the main road at the village. On one of these dips the water from one field had flowed across the road to another, and a substantial pond had been formed.

I wasn't going to attempt a crossing on foot, so retraced my steps for a bit and followed another country road that brought me out a little over a mile away from home. Got home shortly before 5pm, having walked several kilometres more than planned. Oh well, it was good exercise.

At some point on my 'original' walk I was able to catch the setting sun over Easter Kelt Farm at Banknock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.