Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Kokomo House underway

Started the second house for the Sn3 layout.  This one will be a bit run down etc, and will be next to my house in Dolores.  Neighbors - well OK.  Usually I paint all the parts when they are part of the carrying boards.  But this time I am going to try something new so I separated all the parts. It is a fairly small kit also and excellent directions.  

I dragged my little saw blade along the boards and harder along the logs on the flat sides to give them some depth - cracks in the wood, etc.  I will stain everything (both sides) with my ink/alcohol mixture.  Then comes the color.  I am going to try Wild Wesets SMS stains.  That SMS stands for "Smoke and Mirrors" Stain.  When architects are at a loss for words when asked how something's done - "well - it is smoke and mirrors".  P T Barnum was right.

I don't want to lay on the stain with a heavy hand so the ink shows through.  Perhaps a piece of green scrubby stuff, dipped in the stain, and rub on the wood.  We will see.  If I screw up there is always primer and the air brush.

Neat little model - a surprise as it even comes with an outhouse that will get the same treatment. The parts are sitting on my metal tray as I broke one part and had to re-glue it together.  

This little house is keeping my mind off our US election.  Very hard to understand how almost half the country likes Trump.  Probably not him but what he is doing.  I don't get it.  Maybe we will know by the weekend who won. Biden is ahead right now and close to the 270 electoral college votes he needs.  But never count out Trump and his tricksters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.