The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Oscar the Post Cat ...

When I opened the garden door this morning, the visiting cat shot into the house and went to see mum in the lounge ..

He hung around for ages - and as you see, managed to stuff his head into the milk jug while I wasn't looking - but once he'd started I left him to it - what else could I do with a jug full of cat drooly milk?

Then I had a brainwave - and wrote a message on a green ribbon and tied it onto his collar - asking the owners to text me just to reassure me he was ok and not lost.

A couple of hours later I got a text! Such fun! He's called Oscar (the cat - not the owner) and has a timid little grey friend called Bailey (who I occasionally see in the garden) - he lives 3 doors away and the owner was very interested to hear about his travels and that he came in to visit quite regularly!

I had to go into town to buy a light for the garden, then mooched around the old town and the marina and the pier - I haven't looked around there since I was a teenager here.

I had a Saturday job in the pier cafe when I was a teenager. There was a trap door in the kitchen floor which we chucked the rubbish through into the river below - how appalling. Some things have most definitely changed for the better!

In the afternoon I buzzed over to Hornsea Mere where there had been reports of a bittern - which I photographed - but in the end decided to go with Oscar's story as my blip - because it's much more fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.