The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Fabulous yellow hammers!

It was my bird group day today. It was really misty as I left home - but gradually the mist burned off to reveal the most beautiful hoar frost encrusting the hedges and grasses - absolutely fantastic as it glistened in the bright sun.

Our bird walk today was along a redundant railway track - and I was SO excited to see my first yellow hammer - hammerS - loads of them - what stunning birds they are - all the more so against the cloudless blue sky, with the remains of the hoar frost still glistening on the trees.

We also saw many, many chaffinches and a red kite .. and three hares running across a distant field.

In the afternoon I went to Worlaby again to look at the short eared owls while I still can - there was a tractor there mowing part of the land the owls live on .. the beginning of the end?

So sad ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.