The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Doing the hokey cokey

I woke up late again and couldn't quite face rushing out to do another street card stall in the fog. Decided to have a leisurely morning instead, and cooked scrambled egg and vegan sausages for breakfast..By the time I'd sorted out a card order (yay!) and had a bath and told off a 76-year-old friend who suggested that she'd be entertaining guests in her shed during lockdown, it was 1.30pm.

Put up the stall in the street, even though the weather was grizzly. Had a conversation with a woman who said she was just off to put flowers on the grave of her grandson, who had been 23 when he was murdered. She said that she had also lost a market stall because of lockdown, but had had to pay rent for November, anyway. I felt humbled by comparison. And the murder...

CleanSteve stuck his head out, and pointed out that it was actually raining. The only people I'd seen going by for a while were young men in hoodies, so I conceded defeat and brought my stuff in, wiped it down with a tea towel, and put it out, still on the racks, to air. It looks like Santa's grotto in here now! Fortunately I had everything cellophaned. CoVid did that to us, just as we were going plastic-free!

I shall now make gluten free brown bread, in the machine. Sorted out all my flours earlier. Yes, it must be lockdown, folks! After that I'll make some oven-cooked risotto with lemon, chard, parsley and almonds, because I have been given chard and parsley from a friend's allotment.

The other exciting thing that happened is that I was invited to join some kind of Christmassy gluten free market online, and last night I ordered myself a few goodies, somewhat on the early side for Christmas. Can't wait to tuck into savoury pies, though. (I think they are delivered frozen). I love pies more than anything except biscuits, and exciting gluten free ones are hard to find.

The website for my partnership card business, where the cards ARE properly displayed, is www.helenascards.co.uk
Web orders are encouraged! (I don't create the cards myself, but they are the design and execution of many UK artists, are printed in the UK, and support UK charities. Further info on request).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.