Belated Pancake Day

First day of the holidays today!
So nice not to have to force myself out of bed and then spend half an hour running around doing all the things I should have done the night before and getting more and more irate with kids who want to do anything other than getting dressed!!
We had a lazy morning and then headed over to Bicester to see Nana and go bowling.
We love bowling! Lots of whooping, fist clenching and high fiving and that's just me!! Hee hee!
Miss E likes to chant "Go Mummy! Go Mummy" which sounds so sweet!
First of all the scores stayed fairly even but then I noticed Miss E was falling behind a bit so - being the nice, selfless Mummy that I am - I thought I'd better have a few rubbish rounds.
Attempt one at rubbish score: Strike!
Attempt two: Double Strike.
Bloody hell!!
I was softly throwing it right towards the corner. I couldn't have tried less hard to get a Strike!
So I thought at least I could make sure she beat Miss L (who loves it but doesn't really understand - or care yet - about the intricacies of scoring) so I took Miss L's go while she was having a drink.
Guess what? Yep, a blinking Strike!!!!
You couldn't make it up!
Miss E was a bit dejected to see that she'd come last third but was reassured when I told her Miss L had had lots of help from Mummy and Nana and it was much easier for grown-ups who don't have to use the silly ramp!!!
Then it was back to Nana's for scrummy pancakes. I have to admit I didn't make any on pancake day. After the horrible gingerbread men and the bread debacle I couldn't face another gluten-free disaster. But my mum and Miss E made them with GF flour and they were delicious. We will be having them again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.