Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Bismarkturm in Winter

I went walking this evening as the sun was starting to set and took a great many pictures. Then I had a hard time chosing one to blip. I was tempted to post these lovely swans at sunset, but ultimately opted for the old Bismarkturm which stands on a hill in Mülheim, above the Ruhr River.

The tower, dedicated to the first Chancellor of a unified German empire, Otto von Bismarck, was built in 1908 and is one of the last observation posts left in the Ruhr Valley. It offers spectacular views for many miles but is not open at this time of the year, so I'll go back in summer and get vista photos (with a real camera!).

Today brought quite a disappointment. I received word that I've not been selected for a full-time job I was particularly excited about. On the other hand, I was offered a completely different freelance position that will most likely be fun, but isn't really what I want or need. I can only hope it evolves into or leads to something more lucrative soon.

I'm reminded in this of a quote from Alexander Graham Bell:

"When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us."

So I must enter the open door and focus my energy on the opportunities it provides.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.