Lockdown 2.2 - Upheaval

Please come and sort out a small problem with one of my lights, said I to my electrician. Ha! This is what ensued!

A lightbulb blew in my dining room ceiling light a few weeks ago. When it was replaced the light would only work when the switch/pull cord was pulled on or off in my utility room. Both lights had to be on at the same time. It’s taken well over a month to get my electrician to come look at the problem. I didn’t think it was going to be a quick fix but I didn’t really expect this!

He came (a little unexpectedly!) just as I was about to leave on another walk/picnic. It was a glorious day and I was sorry to give up that plan!

He was searching for a junction box. The right one. He pulled up floor boards not just in the upstairs hall but in the bathroom too. He was here a couple of hours. He found it and made a plan, but one of his colleagues will return tomorrow to do the actual work. The floorboards in one of the bedrooms may have to come up. I have visions of a very big bill. Three ceiling lights downstairs were left disconnected as they were a fire risk!

Once he left I was able to get out for a short sunset walk. No picnic. But still appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.