Lockdown 2.1 - Picnic With A View!

Well, this may not look quite like a view to some! But I LOVE fog! So I was happy!

Today was the first day of our new month-long restrictions in England. Much less restricted than in the spring and I have to be honest, with a couple of exceptions it pretty much resembles life as normal for me! I don’t go out to eat very often and I spend a great deal of time at home alone, although I love meeting friends. At least this time we can meet one other friend outdoors for a walk or a picnic or similar.

I don’t mean to make light of it - it will be challenging for many, either in their personal or business life. And the pandemic continues to impact my industry in a huge way and this stage won’t make it any better. But I decided a long time ago to make the best of it and try not to complain. Life is different but hopefully for most of us it is inconvenient at most.

We woke up to fog this morning. I should have gone for a walk but I wasn’t quite ‘with it’. So I was delighted when it was still hanging around at lunchtime, so I packed a picnic with a flask of soup and a sandwich, and headed down to the lake. I sat on the log at my favourite spot and enjoyed the eeriness which I find beautiful in its own way! I did get ‘pounced upon’ by a pack of 5 dogs (twice!) and one almost grabbed my sandwich but I was just able to save it.

About 30 minutes after I took this shot the sun came out and I walked around the lake. By the time I got to my other favourite spot the sun was out completely and I was able to enjoy another 30 minutes or so with the sun on my face. I wish I’d brought a book! I hope we get more sunny days like this. I spent the rest of the afternoon in my garden and I certainly got a good dose of vitamin D!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.