Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2144. First World War Medals

My hubby has quite a collection of military items and these two are both UK First World War medals.  The one on the left is the 1914 star (or Mons Star) awarded to those who fought in the first few months of the war.  The one on the right is the 1914-15 star.  These are both “named” medals as all of the First World War ones were and the 1914 star belonged to Private R. Harrington and the other markings indicate where he served and his service number, 2/D GDS, 5074.  The 1914-15 star belonged to Private G. McAndrew, ASC, M2-105362.  I don’t know anything about either of them but if I find out anything I will post tomorrow, to commemorate them on the 11th November...lest we forget...
Addition: I have just discovered that Private RG Harrington died on this day in 1914...more info to follow tomorrow....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.