BlipsByBex

By BlipsByBex

Beer is Art?

Yesterday was a rather cultural Sunday, for me. We started off by heading down to a friend's art exhibition, which was great- I've never really seen any of her work and she really is talented. The exhibition was here, and as it was by art therapists, involved inviting people to respond. Now, I'm not at all an imaginative person, which is why I like photography- you're taking a nice image of stuff that's already there, even if you do so in a creative fashion. So partly because of this, and partly because of time constraints, Sean and I didn't make any art ourselves but said hi to Clare, wandered about admiring the art then hoofed it up to Camden.

Now, in Camden we had an appointment at the very excellent brewdog for beer tasting. Brewdog make craft beers ranging from a fairly light IPA style beer through some rather interesting ones, like one which is the colour of mollasses, tastes somewhat similar to mollasses and packs a punch at 18% proof. They also made a beer called Tactical Nuclear Penguin, which was over 40%. We didn't get to try that one- which was probably for the best.

The beer tasting was good fun and I would recommend it to anyone who likes beer. Make sure you're not doing anything else for the rest of the day though, as the beer is all much stronger than regular stuff and even in small servings it can make you quite sozzled. The cheese and meat platter on the side was a bonus, but sadly it did little to soak up all the beer we consumed. This blip is a result of my drunken photo-taking, and was nearly pipped to the post by one of Sean talking to Stephen the Squirrel.

We went for chips after that, as we were rather too drunk for a Sunday lunchtime. When we'd sobered up, chips, a milkshake and a brisk walk around Camden Market later, I decided to have an old ear piercing re-opened. I think I must've been braver back when I had it done initially in 2004, as it's rather sore now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.