Remembrance Day, Bearsted Village Green

I “saw” this photo as I passed by on my way to the allotment this morning, making a note to come past on our walk this afternoon.

I am moved by the symbolism, with the head bowed in remembrance and respect for all who died in war and the scattering of leaves on the ground representing all the fallen. The tree behind had a small number of leaves still clinging on which stood for the few who are still left and whose time is short.

I couldn’t get the whole of the tree into the shot without affecting the overall impact. As it is, I had to include the two roadways but avoided unnecessary street furniture.

The two minute silence at 11.00 was very moving, standing at the door of the allotment shed while hundreds of oak leaves were drifting down from above. I remembered specifically those in my family who were enveloped in the war some of whom made the ultimate sacrifice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.