We honour all who serve/served.

Thanks to my 5th Grade teacher, Mr Milne, no November 11th is complete without the reading of In Flanders Fields by John Mccrae

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
    That mark our place; and in the sky
    The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
    Loved and were loved, and now we lie,
        In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
    The torch; be yours to hold it high.
    If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
        In Flanders fields.

In Mr Milne's class each year, on November 11th at 11 am there was a full minute of silence followed by Mr Milne reading In Flanders Fields.  Mr Milne was a descendant of John Mccrae and very emotional during the reading a never was able to complete it.  

Today those taking part in Veterans Day services locally are unfortunately getting wet.  The sky is falling in with almost an inch of rain this morning!

In the top left corner of my photo is my M&S poppy that I got when on one of my visits home to Scotland.

I spent all morning outside on the back porch.  Baron spent a little time on my lap but spent the majority of the time in the cat carrier that I have left out on top of her cedar house since the vet visit. 

Going to spend my afternoon reading.

Stay home if you can and take care of yourself and each other xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.