Conduct very satisfactory in all respects

One for armistice day.

One of my 'when I have the time projects' is to find out more about my grandfathers and their service in WW1.  Like so many, they didn't really talk much about their experiences, but I do know that they were both at the battles at Ypres.  My mother's father was a blacksmith and was involved with the horses pulling gun carriages.  My father's father was in the Royal Engineers and was involved in the tunnelling under no-mans-land.
My only real document is this certificate of character given to him on leaving the army.  It mentions him being awarded the DCM (distiguished conduct medal)  see the extra.

As far as I know, and all of this is just family anecdote, this was something to do with finding a German tunnel with their mine, disarming it, and moving it so it was under their trenches.    He was discharged from the army after an accident (possibly when he was filling shells?) his right hand was quite badly damaged and there was some possibility of it being amputated.  As he was a carpenter he asked the surgeon if his hand could at least be left so he could hold a saw.  Thankfully, they did manage to leave him able to work.

My father realised they had both been at Ypres and, as an ice breaker, when he and my mum were deciding to get married, mentioned this to them.  It was the only time they talked freely about their experiences, and pretty much only to each other.

I have nothing about my other grandfather's service.  My mum did say he had a very clear opinion about any comments along the lines of a land fit for heroes.

On a happier note: our daughter has sent us some of the comments from Ariadne's first parents consulting evening.  She is making good progress and is described as: a leader who can become irritated when others don't do as she directs :-)  
Can't imagine who she gets that from :-)

Many thanks for the responses to my blip of Baddesley Clinton yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.