pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Rational

I’ve been feeling the burn a little at the minute. I don’t know whether it is the nights drawing in, work being more challenging, feeling a little under the weather, lockdown blues etc., but I can definitely feel that familiar prickle of over-sensitivity.

Everyone who deals with anxiety will have their own description of it, but for me with my immature mind and love of comic books, the best way I can describe it is that it is like having your Spidey-sense tripped, a klaxon goes off warning you of impending peril, but then you can’t find the switch to turn it off again.

Case in point today, a minor hurdle has come up on a project I’m working on. When the Spidey-sense is dialled up, minor hurdles suddenly morph into The Wall from Game of Thrones (not the one Danny Dyer talks to). Of course, once the issue has been discussed and the rational mind has calmly put the chimp back in its box, the hurdle returns to its regular size and can be easily surmounted.

I was told some time back that I had what is referred to as “High Functioning Anxiety” and initially I was pleased, I thought that I was finally doing well at something. The facts of it are more nuanced than that of course, but once you read into it and see the characteristics, it does make for an interesting read, particularly when you realise that, no, not everyone does think or feel like that!

How lovely it must be to have a quiet mind. I think that may be why I enjoy being near the river so much.

I don’t think I would have done very well in the middle of a war and Remembrance Day is a valuable reminder of what those on all sides had to endure and of course of those who paid the ultimate price.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.