Day 234 Armistice Day

11 November is of course, Armistice Day as it marks the ending of World War 1 when the allied powers signed a ceasefire agreement with Germany at 11am on the 11th day of the 11th month.  I had heard that poppy arches had been put up at the war memorial in Loughton and so Mr MC and I decided that we would go and pay our respects.  We stayed until after the 2 minute silence at 11am, where we were joined by a small crowd of people including two paramedics, who came to pay their respects.  The collage is a bit of a jumble I'm afraid but there were lots of things that I wanted to record.  The sweet little dog is wearing a poppy in his collar but I couldn't get a shot of that side.  There were three arches in all, covered in woollen poppies made by a local group: one for WW1 and then one each for VE and VJ day.  Behind the WW1 arch is the war memorial and behind that Zizzi's restaurant where we have frequently eaten with family and friends.  Mr MC and I wondered when we might expect, if ever, to eat there again.  Violet's primary school is just a five minute walk from here.
In other news: I had my second physio appointment today and my conclusion is the she is helping me a great deal more than the chiropractor, both in terms of relieving the pain (which was excruciating this morning following a good day yesterday) and giving me exercises and advice to continue my progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.