Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

A day of firsts

Cycling firsts, that is.

Today I went cycling for the first time in several years.  I wore a high viz jacket for the first time.  I wore a cycling helmet for the first time; the high viz jacket and helmet having been bought specially (W says I now look like any other old cyclist).  For the first time I discovered that an old lady driving a Nissan Micra can, if she gets the speed and direction correct, completely cover a cyclist with the contents of even a rather small puddle.  My intention was to cycle the two miles to Blakeney to collect the morning paper but for the first time I forgot my mask, so did a circular ride and had to drive down later to collect it.  And for the first time, having enjoyed my ride so much this morning, I went out for a second one this afternoon.  And saw a very large fox run across the road just in front of me.

I suspect tomorrow will be a day of firsts too.  First really stiff legs for a long time; first numb bum.  And don’t ever let anyone tell you Norfolk is flat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.