Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

730

Well that seemed to be taking a long time - then all of a sudden it was upon me! I had a plan for a fancy shot with drama and artistic merit - but I decided it was too dangerous (even for me) so I chickened out and we have flaming numbers instead.

This has been an amazing photographic journey for me. I look back at my old blips and I'm shocked how different my photos are now. Just shows what a bit of practise can do.

I've learned so much over the last couple of years I think the most important lessons are:

It is really valuable to have the support of like minded people in a community like this - so take part! (I try)

Some of the best gadgets are the cheap home made ones (big flaming torch for example)

It's no good having a sharp image of a fuzzy idea (Ansell Adams)

The huge majority of my shots are 35mm or wider.

Don't be afraid to crop in real tight.

Nothing worthwhile was ever easy (copy the attitude of Weegee).

So many thanks to all those who have made such kind comments over the last couple of years, and all the hearts and the stars and the subs. I couldn't list you all and I wouldn't want to offend anyone by leaving them out so a great big THANK YOU to all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.