Respite (Day 2013)

First job of the day was a fill valve to change in a toilet cistern. Normally a fairly easy job taking about 20 minutes, this one turned into a real fight. I won eventually, but it took a couple of hours.
Next a drippy tap to deal with. It was reasonably straightforward, but the customer uttered the phrase of doom... "While you are here". The wobbly kitchen tap should have been really easy to deal with, but it took me hours to sort out. The backnut on the tap was an odd size, so none of my normal tap spanners would fit. The only way to get to it was with an adjustable spanner, but there wasn't enough space to turn the spanner. It is an awful design and it will come loose again. With the customer watching I had to bite my tongue so I didn't swear when I turned the water on and found the tap was leaking. Bloody thing. I won eventually.
Home for a very late, very quick lunch then a wander at Lyde with the woofers. The weather was totally different from yesterday and I walked without a jacket. It was a much needed bit of respite from the stresses of the morning.
Home again to drop off the woofers then out to change a faulty immersion heater, which went surprisingly well.
Time now to unwind on the couch with my beautiful wife

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.