SilverImages

By SilverImages

Cycle path

"One of the most important days of my life was when I learned to ride a bicycle." 
Michael Palin

What stops me in my tracks is seeing something...different, a photo opportunity perhaps. Maybe it's something about Welsh nonconformity that "speaks" to me. So when I took an afternoon stroll along the canal I expected people walking their dogs, out for a stroll, cyclists, runners, someone having a brew up... Decidedly unexpected and fascinating, so a must for a chat. R had been cycling and before returning home, no more than five minutes cycling from where we were, she liked to have a few minutes calm reflection on the day, basically a brew up on her miniature stove. In the short time we spent together we swapped stories on travel, places we'd been, families and our journeys through life. She told me of her cycle ride from Land's End to John O'Groats and all points in between - with a recommendation to visit Lockerbie. But would she do it again? "No, I've done it once and that was enough...but John O'Groats to Lands End? - that's a different matter." It's all a matter of perspective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.