SilverImages

By SilverImages

Blorenge from Castle Meadows Abergavenny

The only journey is the one within 
Rainer Maria Rilke 

An impromptu visit to Abergavenny A&E for K1 today, so while she was having her hip checked out I wandered around in search of photos. I'm a fan of "His Dark Materials", although finding this current TV offering less than gripping, but last night I was stopped in my tracks by the reference to John Keats, whose statue I photographed during my visit to Guy's hospital recently, without really knowing why. One of the TV characters, a physicist, explained that Keats had coined the phrase "negative capability" which I've found described as "the capacity of ... writers ... to pursue a vision of artistic beauty even when it leads them into intellectual confusion and uncertainty..." (Wikipedia). I like to think that this extends to other creative pursuits and that the best results arise from losing ourselves in the love of the artistic pursuit, that's certainly been my experience with photography, even with commercial commissions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.