SilverImages

By SilverImages

Keepers Pond and Sugarloaf

"I awoke only to find that the rest of the world was asleep"
Leonardo da Vinci 

Some walks have to be taken alone, and I knew wandering around Keepers Pond looking for camera angles would have limited appeal and so would be one of them. I was drawn there in the hope of mist and fog in the valley to provide a backdrop for the photo and I wasn't disappointed. Many years ago I'd left a life drawing class in Crickhowell, unable to tap into any seam of creativity and feeling rather unsettled, opting instead for driving the mountain road to Brynmawr and sitting quietly in the car overlooking the mists in the valley below. A friend happened to be passing and saw me, and later asked me what I was doing there? I was reminded of an expression I'd read somewhere, probably in Douglas E. Harding's book "On Having No Head" and laughingly told him I was observing The Cloud of Unknowing (the mists in the valley) as a meditative practice to understanding the creative process.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.