Last Day

A bit of a trick, this -- it's not the last day before my Texas trip, it's the last day I'm 65.

Each day at this point in my life seems like a gift!

Getting back to today's photo, I'm one of those people who start packing several days before leaving on a trip. Last week I tried out a variety of clothing options, keeping in mind that Austin (and Corpus Christi, where we'll spend a day and a night) are considerably warmer than where I live.

One of the things I enjoy most about traveling is taking a minimum of clothing. That's partly driven by my determination compulsion to use carry-on bags only, so that I can wrangle my own luggage and not run the risk of having it not be on the same plane as me. Traveling this way also limits souvenir purchases, although bookmarks -- both useful and attractive -- are not a problem.

About three years ago, I invested in the Tom Bihn "Western Flyer" bag seen here on the left. It's only slightly larger* than the travel purse on the right, but it's big enough for my 15-inch laptop and carefully-chosen clothes and travel items for a week or two, depending on weather, and has hidden backpack straps, as well as two handles and a shoulder strap.

Tom Bihn products are not only made in the USA, they're made in Seattle! That makes them local, in my book. It's increasingly difficult to find products made in the United States, so I'm happy to support this company.

A change of pace tomorrow from pre-travel blips -- we're going out for tapas to celebrate my birthday, and I'm hoping that there will be enough light for me to photograph some of them!

(*My Western Flyer measures 18 x 12 x 7 inches / 455 x 305 x 180 mm, weighs 2 lb 8 oz / 1150 grams, and has a volume of 1600 cubic inches / 26 liters.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.