Today's Special

By Connections

Happy Birthday to Me!

Inspired by all the blippers I follow who do long walks or runs on the moors, I have resolved to move more, and walking is my movement of choice.

It's been ages since I've had new walking shoes, and Phil needed some too, so this afternoon we went to Fairhaven Runners & Walkers, a wonderful independent shoe store across the street from Village Books. That's where I bought my last pair of shoes, and I knew they'd have a good selection. The expert sales staff, all runners themselves, really care about helping customers find the best shoes or running apparel for their specific needs.

Dylan was the sales person who helped us today, and he was great. In between making sure that our prospective new shoes were laced up just right, fit properly, and met our expectations, he chatted with us about beer, travel, and life in general.

I like the shoes' name, Addiction Walkers -- I'm addicted to Blipfoto and to genealogical research, so now I'm adding walking to that list! Giving myself the gift of better health by walking more is a great way to celebrate my birthday (Feb. 19), and stating my intention publicly here is an added inducement to follow through.

With spring coming on, albeit slowly (pouring rain again today), and so many beautiful local trails beckoning, as depicted in this art hanging in the store, it's a great time of year to get started!

(You can see more of the store and read Phil's account here.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.