Today's Special

By Connections

New Cuisine Coming

Feeling better today, I did a couple of errands downtown and photographed this nascent business, thinking it would make a quick blip.

There really is no such thing as a quick blip, of course, because I started researching Peruvian cuisine online, knowing nothing about it except that they eat a lot of potatoes and enjoy fried guinea pigs, neither of which sounded appealing.

Unable to resist the detail that Wikipedia offered, I learned that Peruvians consume an estimated 65 million guinea pigs each year, and they are most popular in the Andean highlands.

In another reference, I learned that a sanguercheria is a Peruvian shop known for large sandwiches. As long as there's no guinea pig sandwich at Cafe Rumba, I'm likely to enjoy expanding my gustatory experiences there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.