Today's Special

By Connections

Off-Color

Not this cheery rag basket - me. I woke up in the middle of the night with gastroenteritis ("stomach flu") and have, of necessity, not done much today. An in-house blip was unavoidable.

Made from recycled fabrics, this colorful little basket was among my first purchases on Etsy, "the world's handmade marketplace," a couple of years ago. I was drawn to the blue/green/yellow tones, as they are my favorite colors, and to its useful size -- 4.5in/11.5cm tall, 5.5in/14cm in diameter. It currently holds three of my favorite rocks from our trips to southern France.

Here's what the artist says about her work: One of my favorite things to do is scour thrift shops in search of fabrics to repurpose. I then bring them home, launder them and cut or tear them into strips, and crochet to my heart's content!

She lives in Salem, Oregon, and her products - bowls, baskets, rag rugs, trivets, coasters, potholders, table mats - evoke the thriftiness of earlier days in both their materials and their functions, while still being things of beauty.

(I planned to include a little information about rag rugs and related products here, but need to conserve my energy. If you'd like to know more, this link and this one are informative.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.