Ingleman

By Ingleman

Anthurium Andreanum

I cried today. Not sure why but maybe it was emotion being held back for too long. Whilst walking I heard a steady clippety clop behind me and I saw a most splendid sight - a funeral cortege comprising 3  impressive black limousines followed sedately by a magnificent team of four black horses pulling the carriage containing the coffin. It was a moment of pure drama which pricked my senses. I wanted to capture this resplendant scene but felt it would be too obtrusive and so I just watched them go by. I was reminded of my own  mortality as it is two years to the day when I awoke in ICU at New Cross Hospital, having been admitted the day before, for emergency bowel surgery. Sadness, relief, gratitude and knowing the joy of living. That's why I cried. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.