Strawhouse

By strawhouse

That Time Again

I had an alarm set this morning to log into the Tesco website and book our delivery slot for Christmas. The alarm was set for just before 7am.
I woke up at 7.30am and saw a reminder on my phone that I'd set an alarm.
The actual alarm might have been nice!!
But never mind.
I loaded the Tesco site on both my phone and my laptop and was greeted by the "you are in a queue" message so familiar from the weekly stress in lockdown. I was still queuing when was time to leave for school with Miss L so I left my laptop with Mr K with instructions and gave Miss L my phone in the car and told her to let me know if the screen changed.
As we were driving up to the carpark at her school at 8.45am the page changed to the "Book your slot" page.
"Don't panic!!!" I shouted
"Why would I panic?" she said witheringly.
We got 5pm on December 23rd which was excellent work.
I'm trying to spread the cost a bit and avoid any potential shortages by ordering more than I normally would in advance. (More in advance rather than more shopping!!) so hopefully the delivery on the 23rd will not need to be huge.
Mr K and I walked into town at lunchtime. I've been nagging him to get more exercise! On the way back we sat on a bench (because carrying the takeaway drinks was annoying not because we needed an old people rest walking up the hill!) Mr K spotted a tree in the sloping garden opposite and had the most fascinating conversation with himself.
"Look how big that tree is!"
I mumbled something non-committal and carried on drinking my tea
"Or is it just because it's on a slope?"
I didn't even bother to mumble anything.
"It looks big because it's on higher ground"
Kill me now.
"Look at that small tree up on that big hill"
Pinter eat your heart out.
As we got nearer to our house he was doing this weird thing of veering to the right and forcing me to move further and further to the right into the road.
Weird and annoying.
Apparently he was trying to avoid a couple of tiny puddles. When I asked could he stop veering into me he replied - and I kid you not - that if he had been walking where I was he would have anticipated the navigational needs of his co-perambulator.
There's nothing I can really say to follow that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.