Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A wet and soggy day

We woke up to rain and it has mostly rained all day. Luke cooked us breakfast, scrambled eggs on avo toast with roasted tomatoes on the vine, it was as good as going out for breakfast!

We all had a good walk in the very muddy woods - there were so many people out walking, I thought the wet weather would keep people away but that was not the case. Xena was so dirty after her walk, she needed a good wash with the portable shower spray. It is not easy having a dog in winter, I have lost count of how many times I have wiped the stupidly pale kitchen floor today from her muddy pawprints. Usually when I let her back inside she knows to wait and I wipe her paws down, but know she knows how to open the door herself so when I am busy elsewhere she can open the door, run outside, and then run back inside leaving all those muddy paw prints everywhere. Aargh, anyone want a dog for winter?!

The online Christmas shopping is starting to arrive, including Xena's present of a custom fitted (as she is so slim) doggy rain jacket. Having one layer of fur she gets very wet and cold and she hates the rain, so hopefully this will help her on wet days like today.

While Luke and Gavin watched the Masters golf on TV, I spent the afternoon trying to sort a problem with Photoshop and Nik. My Nik Collection has just stopped working on Photoshop CC. I tried everything but finally I found a note on the Nik software support page saying that it is not working with Photoshop and a hot fix is planned, whatever that means. Has anyone else noticed this problem?

I also spent a long time sorting flights to Harris and Lewis for my planned photography trip in March 2021- if it will ever happen in these Covid times. The flights to Stornoway were changed by Loganair three times, and the last change included a change of airport from Edinburgh to Glasgow. So I had to change the connecting flights too, and also book an overnight stay at Glasgow Airport as the times no longer worked. What a hassle and extra work and who knows if the trip will even take place.

A soggy leaf on our patio paving - this just about sums up the weather.

Oh and I am hating my new varifocals - I can't work out if they are wrong or I will just get used to them. They do not seem to improve my vision very well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.