Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Friday the 13th

Friday the 13th but so far it has been a busy day but not a bad day! This morning I had a mammogram appointment, and it was at a hospital in Windsor so I left home in plenty enough time in case there was traffic or I took a wrong turning (I did, I get confused at those large motorway junctions). This was a private appointment as due to Covid the NHS had to stop all screenings and although they have started screening again the backlog is so huge, and as I am already overdue for my checkup, I  did not want to wait for another year or however long it takes to get an NHS appointment. They could not tell me when it would be when I phoned the NHS to check so I decided it was worth it and important enough to me to rather pay for it. I am fortunate that I can do so, but so many others can't and the situation is not good with all the missed screenings. 

It was raining when I left home but when I got to Windsor it was sunny and bright and it looked beautiful, the  River Thames was calm with beautiful reflections and there were many people walking along the Long Walk with Windsor castle in their view.

The appointment was fine, they had all the usual Covid safety measures in place but obviously you cannot be socially distanced from the radiographer. After that I went back to our village and did grocery shopping for the weekend and then quickly went home to unpack it and have a bite to eat for lunch before returning to the village to collect my new glasses. Yes, after telling me last Friday it would take between 2-4 weeks to get them I phoned them on Monday and said that was unreasonably long and I was getting headaches every day from not having my glasses, so thankfully they phoned me today to say they were ready for collection. 

No time for photos today, but on my way back from the village I stopped off and took some photos of these trees which admittedly I have photographed many times before, but the blue sky and light looked good today. Now it is the weekend and take away curry tonight I think. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.