Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Elephants

Some of you know I‘m very fond of elephants.    So I love seeing them everywhere…but maybe NOT here.   I don’t know for sure but seeing them with this American red white and blue banner is sending me another nasty message.

I really didn’t know how our 2 political parties got connected with the animals, elephant for Republicans and donkey for Democrats.   But according to this It seems the elephant started during the civil war in the 1860s with Republican Pres. Lincoln…..something to do with an expression “seeing the elephant” was an expression used by soldiers to mean experiencing combat.  But it didn’t take hold til 1874 when political cartoonist Thomas Nast used it in a Harper’s weekly cartoon.  Nast also helped popularize the donkey for the democratic party altho it can be traced to the 1828 oresidential campaign of Andrew Jackson, whose opponents called him a jackass.   

My elephants are NOT political..they are just amazing animals...I don't have fond feelings for donkeys...

Word has it that our governor is going to announce big covid restrictions tomorrow..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.