Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Humankind cannot bear very much reality

We all remained masked throughout our visit. Evan wanted to instruct me on how to play with action figures. He had a castle with a moat, some trolls, some soldiers. He said I could pick my own character.

I asked, "Who are the kind ones?"

Patiently, he answered, "They're action figures, Baba. They're for action, like fighting evil and defending the castle from trolls and bad guys."

I said, "Well some of them have to grow food for people in the castle to eat, right?" 

"There's no farm." He was sure about that.

"But Evan," I persevered, "there has to be food for the people in the castle. The action heros have to eat, or they'll be weak and they'll starve. So there has to be a farm, and people who grow food for the action figures."

With great patience and gentleness, in a tone one might use to instruct a beloved but ancient dog that has become incontinent, he explained, 

"Baba, the action figures are plastic. They don't have to eat."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.