Back to Buscot

30.06.20
Whenever I go anywhere I love I always say that we must come back soon but I never do. Well today changed that!! We had such a fabulous time at Buscot Park with the D's on Saturday that I decided to go back today with my mum.
Another wonderful day!
Buscot doesn't open until 2pm so we decided to have a tootle through the Cotswolds first. I'm always amazed how close we actually are to the Cotswolds! 
I picked mum up and we set off towards Chipping Norton and from there towards Stow-on-the-Wold, Bourton-on-the-Water and the Slaughters. We didn't stop until we got to the lovely little village of Guiting Power, just enjoyed the beautiful rolling countryside.  
Guiting Power looked like such a pretty village we couldn't resist a stop and look around. And some tea and cake from the lovely village shop/cafe/bakery/antique shop! We walked down to the church and had a good nose around all the little lanes and alleys. Just beautiful.
Then it was onwards. We went cross country to Winchcombe, in along one side of the valley and then up out of the other side where we stopped at a viewpoint (the lay-by where you park to go and see Belas Knapp, a Neolithic Long Barrow) and savoured the incredible views of the town and Sudeley Castle. Definitely somewhere to come back to soon. 
From there it was cross country again to Faringdon and Buscot. I made a bit of a pig's ear of it but we got there eventually and there are worse places to get lost!
We had a wonderful few hours wandering around the gardens and park discovering loads of things I'd missed the other day. It really is gorgeous, right up on my list of favourite National Trust properties!
We were there until closing as usual and as we had a last look round the walled gardens we saw an old couple come through a gate marked 'private' with their dog and amble about the gardens just ahead of us. (bottom right picture) A quick Google confirmed that they were Lord and Lady Faringdon enjoying a stroll around their garden!! 
Imagine living somewhere like that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.