Alberta

By Alberta

Expect the unexpected ...

The little girl who has been teaching me Malayalam invited me to her prizegiving (this is not her by the way) as she got the 1st prize for computing and she wanted me to be there and to take her photo ... I was the only non Indian woman there so tried to sneak in the back (impossible!). Anyway the sisters (it is a Convent school) showed me to a chair down the side of the hall. Unfortunately I arrived at the time of the speeches and they certainly like their speeches in India... Correction - the givers of the speeches like their speeches. Everyone else was fidgetting and getting up and down and looking around .. you might just be able to see the level of concentration in these girls faces!! And heaven knows what temperature it was in there. Thank goodness I had a fan which however drew rather a lot of attention but by that time I was beyond caring. Anyway Sona - the little girl who is my teacher was delighted I went and so was I. Apart from the speeches (all in Malayalam of course) it felt very special to be there. And I missed getting her photo as she was awarded the prize but did get one outside.

And this evening we have just had a very strange demonstration of a form of yoga believed to have been practised by Lord Shiva.. As the saying goes 'in India expect the unexpected!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.