Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

New Phone

Some of you may recall (a week or so ago) that I started a discussion on smart phones. My 6 year old device could no longer install the apps I needed. Many of you gave me very useful advice on new phones, which I studied carefully. Thank you.

Given my budget, I arrived at three potential alternatives: iPhone SE, Google Pixel 4a and Samsung Galaxy A51. All models offered great screens, fast {enough} processing, 128gb storage and 6gb RAM. The first two choices seemed to offer a more sensible overall size, arguably better cameras and slightly better battery life - although some people I spoke with disputed those notions. Anyway I scoured Youtube for reviews and went out to play with all of them. 

The larger A51 proved to be more manageable than I had feared, and potentially offered larger keys to text with. Its version of Android OS was similar to what I'd grown used to and because it was clearly cheaper than the others, Norma and I could afford one each. So a decision was arrived at.

Now I have to come clean. The REAL reason I got the Samsung was that the back of its case enjoyed doing colourful sexy things with the light. Honestly ... how could I resist? Be assured that no saturation sliders were troubled during this operation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.